Wednesday 12 June 2024

I spread out all the literature and research I have done on my Latvia project on the floor by my desk. I dust the books and survey my work. So much knowledge. It’s time to get it all back into the light.

As a child I wanted to write about my family history because it felt so unique. No one else I knew had a family history like mine, rooted in war and fear and opportunity.

The reason I want to write about my family history as an adult is because it’s so un-unique. People everywhere and throughout time have left their homelands for life in another country, leaving conflict, poverty, hunger, persecution or boredom. After the so-called ‘migrant crisis’ of 2015, which informed that year’s elections and the subsequent Brexit referendum, I began to see my family’s story through a different lens. It became clear that we were far from unique.

Migrants have built societies throughout human history. Human movement has been fundamental to our dominance of planet Earth. If it’s through colonisation, trade, alliances, search for food or simply curiosity, our thirst for a better life has driven us to travel and move, and build the world as we know it.

Not only am I the grandchild of such migrants; I am one myself. I would fall into the category of “curious'” migrants, as I had no other reason to leave my home country than wanting an adventure. It’s as far away from my grandparents’ reason as you could get: I emigrated because of privilege, while they emigrated out of necessity. They got into a boat because they needed a secure and safe everyday life, and I’ve been getting into boats and crossing oceans out of a need for excitement and to get away from my secure and safe everyday life.

As I look out over the sea of books and papers on my floor, this is an area I want to explore. The difference and similarities between mine and my grandparents’ choices. I want to know more about other people’s journeys, as well as their before and after lives. This is where I will start: by looking out, as well as in.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑